Italiano  English        


Wieland Kuijken

Monday 16 July, 20:30, Teatro Foce







This evening, Wieland Kuijken will complete the project started on Saturday, 30 July 2011, in the first edition of the LongLake Festival.

The famous (Six) Suites for Solo Cello, without bass composed by Johann Sebastian Bach Chapel Master, were most probably written in Köthen in the second decade of 1700. First of all, it is to be noted that, by comparison with the Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin, presumably composed during the same period, Bach’s writing is more essential: aware of the lesser agility of the instrument. He knows, however, how to give the correct relevance to the uniqueness of timbre and expressiveness of the cello. It is evident that Bach’s creative path continues to widen as new elements are added along the way.

From the first Suite in G major, simple, spontaneous and sunny, with the second Suite in D minor, the third in C major and the fourth in E flat major, the dimensions of the Prelude and of the different dances increase. The fifth Suite in C minor involves the “scordatura” (untuning) of the first string which imparts a darker and more sorrowful color to the entire Suite, while the sixth Suite is composed for a five string cello (with the E cantino, in addition to the other four strings.

With all the particular accentuations and nuances of the bow “alla gamba”, (that is, kept with the palm of the right hand up), Wieland Kuijken will perform the third Suite, the fourth Suite and finally the famous sixth Suite in D major, executed with a five-stringed violoncello piccolo.




Johann Sebastian Bach
Tre Suites per violoncello solo


Suite n. 3 in do maggiore BWV 1009
Prélude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Bourrée I /II, Gigue


Suite n.4 in mi bemolle maggiore BWV 1010
Prélude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Bourrée I /II, Gigue


Suite n.6 in re maggiore BWV 1012
Prélude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Gavotte I /II, Gigue


Wieland Kuijken, violoncello e violoncello piccolo,  arco “alla gamba”