Italiano  English        


Edgar Moreau

Sunday 8 July, 20:30, Teatro Foce, Lugano







Winner at the age of 17 of the Second Prize of the Tchaikovsky Competition 2011 presided over by Valery Gergiev, and a prize for the best interpretation of the contemporary selection, the young French cellist, Edgar Moreau had already won the Young Soloist Prize at the Rostropovich Competition in 2009.

Born in Paris in 1994, Edgar began studying the cello at the age of 4 with Carlos Beyris (studying piano as well, completing his studies in 2010 at the Conservatory of Boulogne-Billancourt). He perfected his studies with Xavier Gagnepain and attended the class of Philippe Muller at the National Superior Conservatory of Paris for Music and Dance. He attended the master classes of Mario Brunello, Miklos Perenyi, Gary Hoffman, Frans Helmerson and David Geringas, and lessons at the Académie Verbier, the Kronberg Academy, etc.

In 2006, at age 11, he performed with the Orchestra of the Teatro Regio of Turin, the
Orchestre de l'Opera of Massy, the Orchestre de Douai, the Musica Viva Orchestra, the Svetlanov Symphonic Orchestra of Russia, and the Sinfonia Iuventus Orchestra (under the direction of Krzysztof Penderecki).

In 2011, Edgar Moreau was invited to give a recital at the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theater (St. Petersburg) and in 2012 he was a guest of the Festival Beethoven of Warsaw, and the Festivals of Deauville, Radio France, Montpellier, Saint-Denis, L’Orangerie de Sceaux, Les Flâneries de Reims, etc.

Prize Winner at the Maurice Ravel Academy and laureate of the Fondation Banque Populaire in 2011, Moreau will play a cello built by David Tecchler in 1711 and will be accompanied by Andrea Carcano at the piano.






L. v Beethoven
Sonata n°2 in sol minore op. 5 n°2
Adagio sostenuto e espressivo - Allegro molto più tosto presto, Rondo. Allegro

C. Debussy
Sonate pour violoncelle et piano en ré mineur
Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
Sérénade: Modérément animé
Final: Animé, léger et nerveux


R. Schumann
Adagio e Allegro in la bemolle maggiore op. 70

B. Britten
Sonata in do maggiore op. 65
Dialogo: Allegro
Scherzo: Pizzicato
Elegia: Lento
Marcia: Energico
Moto Perpetuo: Presto


Edgar Moreau, violoncello
Andrea Carcano, pianoforte